Alex's Weblog

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Alătură-te lângă 1 urmăritor

  • Februarie 2009
    L M M M V S D
    « Ian   Mar »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    232425262728  

Deleted lots of work from harddisk

Posted by alecs1 pe 2009-02-10

Well, it happened.
I deleted by mistake a directory containing source that did not have back-ups. Then I restored it with git clone, but this was an old version, 4 days old or something like that. The I killed X, unmounted the partition, and did:
reiserfsck –rebuild-tree -S -l /root/recovery.log /dev/sda2 .I stopped it believing it takes too long with -S then
reiserfsck –rebuild-tree -l /root/recovery.log /dev/sda2 .I stopped it realizing that what I actually need it the original command.
reiserfsck –rebuild-tree -S -l /root/recovery.log /dev/sda2

Now most of the files I touched in the last hours/days are corrupted. While originally I only lost 2 source files, which I could probably rewrite in maybe less than 3 hours, now I lost the whole project. I can’t even do a git clone, .git is corrupted too. No more project to submit a homework. So I guess many of my files are now screwed. Some of them are confirmed to be destroyed:
-text files I edited last hours.
-pidgin configuration
-half of kde programs configuration
-amarok config
I hope I won’t realize many more are gone. The fact that .git is corrupted is a strong indicator that not only the files edited in the last hours are gone. My last back-up was one month ago.

The lost+found directoy, which was my hope, is largely useless. I go to sleep now and search again through lost+found in the morning.
The sad thing is that in the last 2 weeks I was really thinkinf of starting real back-up.

I also don’t exactly understand what happened, probably stopping „reiserfsck –rebuild-tree rebuild-tree” is a bad thing. Anyway, these are not tools for the faint of heart. And if you jump the window the first second you see fire you deserve the consequences.
Lesson learned.

Un răspuns to “Deleted lots of work from harddisk”

  1. Anyway, these are not tools for the faint of heart. And if you jump the window the first second you see fire you deserve the consequences.
    Reiserfs is neither for the faint of heart, not for production uses. And, indeed, if you use non-production-quality stuff in production, you fully deserve the results😉

    @Dexter

Lasă un răspuns

 
